The Summer of DoinGood

23Jun10

Monday we officially crossed into Summer! There’s something about the changing of the season that always makes me feel ready for change in my life too. I get inspired to refocus, recharge, rethink, heck – even redecorate! Although I’ve gotten some DoinGood in over the last few months, I always feel like I could be doing more. And I’ve been fortunate to have support along the way. My dad asks about this blog all the time and my mom sits patiently through all of my dramatic retellings/reenactments of my volunteering adventures. Even my coworkers have been supportive – I recently won an award at work for being a badass at my job the hard work I’ve put in lately, but I was also recognized for being involved in the community. So thanks yall; the love is much appreciated.

Now that I’ve got some traction of moving forward, I’m feeling really charged to set some summer goals that I want to share with you!

Goal #1:  Spend more time writing in this blog!! I haven’t told you about AHHH, SCAN, CHRIS Kids Premiere Party, Georgia Public Broadcasting, Atlanta Toolbank’s HouseParty, having my idea for our corporate women’s service project in September selected by the board as the one we’re pursuing…needless to say, I’m a little behind. The book I’m reading right now is about how one author got back into the swing of writing and I think it’s got some of the best advice ever – all you need is 15 minutes. Who doesn’t have 15 minutes to spare? I need to make 15 minutes – anybody got a recipe?

Goal #2: Vary the volunteering. I’ve volunteered with horses. I’ve volunteered in the dirt. But it’s been a while since I’ve done anything that directly involved kids. Or the disabled. Or the homeless. I really need to make sure I’m spreading my wings. We’ve got some really great non-profits and charities around Atlanta; I’ve got a lot of ground to cover! I definitely want to do some more hands-on projects this summer. Helping out at events can be fun, but there’s nothing that makes this more real for me than when I meet the people directly affected by the work of the organizations I’m helping out for the day. Suggestions welcomed!

Goal #3: (which I’m already in the midst of working on) Learn more about marketing for non-profits. Why not, right? I enjoy working in marketing for my day job, I’m 112% behind organizations for making life better – best case scenario is to grow my smarts by merging my worlds together. My dad is on the board for a non-profit mentoring program back home and has asked me to kick around a few ideas with him some time in the next few weeks. I’ve been nose-deep in every article I can find about social media, cause marketing, donor relations, and volunteer acknowledgement/appreciation because I really do want to help. Hopefully more to come on that…

What are your DoinGood goals for Summer 2010, Atlanta?

4 Responses to “The Summer of DoinGood”

  1. 1 Shawn

    I really enjoy your blog. The many different ways we can help that you discuss is great. Through your blog I learned about Stomp out Hunger and have joined their page. Looking forward to our support of some of these charities! Keep it up!

    • 2 doinGood in my hood

      I’m super-late with this, but thanks Shawn! Stamp Out Hunger was so successful here in Atlanta, it helped one of the food banks down in Henry County do their largest distribution ever. It’s amazing how simply asking people to put out a few items for pick-up can have such a huge impact when we all get involved.

  2. I like the spirit !!……you have charted out some inspirational goals. Good luck in your endeavors and being a change agent that you aspire to be.

    http://dharbarkha.blogspot.com/

    • 4 doinGood in my hood

      Thanks. I really enjoy your blog, by the way – your writing is very deep and emotionally impactful.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,179 other followers

