Volunteer Confessional #1

14Nov09

Okay, I have a confession to make about why I’ve been away from the blog for so long. It’s not because I completely stopped volunteering or because I got too busy to be involved. What had happened was…

I’ve had some not-so-great volunteer experiences recently.

Trying to figure out how to write about them had turned out to be kind of a bummer. How open and honest should I really be about what happened – and how does that affect my integrity? Was it really that bad or was I just being a drama queen? I struggled through draft after draft but got frustrated because none of them felt right. Ultimately, I decided that it felt a little unfair to the organization(s) and/or counterproductive to the spirit of this blog to go negative. So I decided to go dark for a bit to think it through. However, once I realized that those experiences actually gave me a mountain of material for future topics I’ll be writing about here in DoinGoodinMyHood in the coming weeks/months, it turned out that some of my angst was not in vain after all. I just needed to do some reframing and it worked like a charm.

In short, and most importantly – I’m back! Be sure to check back later this weekend; I’ll be posting some of my fancy schmancy original artwork.

No Responses Yet to “Volunteer Confessional #1”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

