Project Overcoat Needs Your Help

19Nov09

It’s getting a little chilly out there, Atlanta! With lows in the 30s and 40s right now, I can’t help but to be grateful for having a coat for outside and a blanket for indoors. And maybe I admitted today to owning a Slanket? But unfortunately, not everyone has these luxuries. My heart broke when I saw this story last night on Fox5 Atlanta (video was updated this afternoon).

Vodpod videos no longer available.

posted with vodpod

This place is right down the street, maybe 5 minutes from here. Gosh, I feel terrible; I didn’t even think about it when everything else over here flooded in September. I think I’d heard of Project Overcoat before I saw this story. Oddly enough, there’s not a whole heck of a lot of current info available about it here on the interwebz.

What I do know: Project Overcoat is an annual event where Atlanta Union Mission collects coats and blankets for needy men, women, and kids and then distributes in mid-to-late January. They got wiped out in the flood so AUM is looking for donations as well as big ticket items to sell at their thift store locations.

What I don’t know: Are they collecting coat/blanket donations somewhere yet? Looks like in the past they’ve had retail partners where you could drop off coats/blankets. I’ll call AUM tomorrow and see what I can find out. Stay tuned to this space for additional info…

 

2 Responses to “Project Overcoat Needs Your Help”

  1. 1 Heather

    I have been looking everywhere for a place to donate coats to, did you ever find any information about it. If so could you email me.

    Thanks so much 🙂

    • 2 doinGood in my hood

      Hi Heather!
      You can start dropping off coats starting this Saturday, January 9th, at Kroger locations all over Atlanta.


Leave a Reply

