Project Overcoat Update- Donations start 1/9

05Jan10

Yesterday, one of my coworkers told me that this weather is the coldest we’ve had here in Atlanta in 14 years! I grew up in Northern Virginia and lived in Boston for a little while, but being back down here in the South with our usually warm weather has spoiled me. My body doesn’t even know how to function in such cold weather anymore. With morning temps in the teens and highs hovering around the freezing mark, I can’t help but to take a moment to be grateful for the coat my mom gave me as I put it on to brave the chilly temps. I hate being cold and can only imagine what it must be like to not have a warm coat right about now.

I wrote a few weeks ago about Project Overcoat, a great coat/blanket drive that distributes to local organizations that help connect people with these much-needed warm items. Oddly enough, trying to find current information about Project Overcoat has been like trying to find the lost city of Atlantis. What’s up with that? I did eventually find information saying that local Kroger stores will start collecting coats and blankets for Project Overcoat this Saturday, January 9th, at locations all over Atlanta. Bring your goods and help warm up those in need this winter with your generosity! The items will be distributed in early February to organizations who register with the United Way by Friday’s deadline.

(Shoutout to reader Heather, who reminded me that I hadn’t updated the blog with this info. Thanks lady!)

Edited to add – Donations for Project Overcoat will be collected through January 23rd. Please don’t wait until the last minute; go drop off your coats and blankets today!

2 Responses to “Project Overcoat Update- Donations start 1/9”

  1. 1 Kim

    I completely agree with you! It has been horrible just trying to find out a dropoff location! I called the 211 number, and I finally just said “all I need is a dropoff location”, her response was “I know, ma’am, but I need to get this information from you first”, I laughed, said “to drop off a coat, just forget it”, and hung up. They shouldn’t make it so hard to try to help people. I don’t have much, but I help when I can, and after going through an act of congress just to find out where to drop something off at, I am tempted to just let my dogs lay on the blankets and coats, but I won’t because I found this site, and now I know I can go to Kroger, although, there isn’t one very close to me!!!!

  2. 2 doinGood in my hood

    I’m so glad I could help, Kim- spread the word! I’d imagine you’ll probably start hearing a little more about it on Fox 5 Atlanta and Kiss 104.1 (the program’s media partners) now that the donation drive is in full swing.
    Thanks in advance for making the hustle over to Kroger and for DoinGood for people in need here in Atlanta!


Leave a Reply

