Atlanta CAREs – and throws a big celeb party!

17Jan10

Just a quick posting to raise awareness of a website that I came across while researching a topic I’ll be discussing here in DoinGood later this week…

The civic, religious, and business leaders of Atlanta have banded together to put together AtlantaCares.Org, a website dedicated to the community’s efforts to raise funds in support of CARE’s work in response to the crisis in Haiti. They’ve got a pretty lofty $10 million fundraising goal. Guess no better time than the present to get jumping on that – there’s a big celeb fundraising event going on tomorrow night at Midtown’s recently reopened RARE. The event, which will be hosted by Big Boi from Outkast (love him!), has a suggested at-the-door donation of $20 and there will be valet parking.

I wish I had the funds to go support all of these events going on around town right now. Unfortunately my day job just barely pays me enough to keep my bills current, so a shoutout in my blog will have to suffice for now. Besides, this posting is my little way of showing my love and support to the leaders of my city for coming together behind this effort and to thank them for DoinGood.

By the way, Atlanta Leaders, it would be awesome if AtlantaCares.Org sticks around for the long-term with efforts to raise big funds for local causes as well. ♥

No Responses Yet to “Atlanta CAREs – and throws a big celeb party!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

