Help and Hope

22Jan10

Just a quick reminder, Atlanta – tomorrow (January 23rd) is the last day to drop off new/gently used coats and blankets at your local Kroger to support Project Overcoat! Although things are warming up a little outside and we no longer have ice on the ground, winter isn’t over for us yet. These donations are going to go a long way in helping people in need out here in Atlanta.

I’m supposed to be at a Thank You party for those of us who volunteered at For The Kid In All Of Us’s Toy Party back in December…but I’m exhausted and not going out tonight at all. I am, however, lying here in bed watching a little bit of the Hope for Haiti telethon before I doze off. It’s incredible to think about how this is being simulcast all over the place. It’s on something like 50 different networks AND on the radio (here in Atlanta, I know it’s playing on V-103). They just showed Reese Witherspoon having a super-awkward conversation with a caller. It kinda reminded me of the last time I volunteered to do a phone bank for PBS Atlanta. I had a very strange conversation with a guy from somewhere in Georgia that I’d never heard of who tried to tell me his entire life story…and because I listened to him ramble, he decided to double his pledge. It was kinda cool. By the way, did you know that the Chronicle of Philanthropy is now reporting that there has been $380 MILLION raised for Haiti relief. It’s all the more reason I’m boo-hooing watching this telethon tonight.

Just a thought – if you’ve given to help someone this week, even if it was just a smile or held a door open or donated to Haitian relief or another cause near and dear to you…thank you.

No Responses Yet to “Help and Hope”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

