DoinGood Review: Planting with Trees Atlanta

23Jan10

What the heck happened to the weather, Atlanta? Yesterday afternoon/evening was warm and beautiful; this morning was cool and cloudy with hair frizz-inducing drizzle. D’ah well; didn’t stop me from heading over to the Capitol View Manor neighborhood in Southwest to join Trees Atlanta for their weekly neighborhood tree planting.

Trees Atlanta is a non-profit organization whose mission is to keep Atlanta green and lush with trees. They do a pretty good job, running programs to plant and preserve trees in neighborhoods and restoring/maintaining the city’s forest areas. For 25 years, Trees Atlanta has been a nationally recognized program of excellence and an important environmental resource to our city.

Signing up to volunteer for today’s project was as easy as replying to the weekly newsletter. Unfortunately, finding today’s worksite was a little challenging. The directions provided in the newsletter weren’t clear so I got lost. Thank goodness for my phone’s GPS! I made it just in time for the demo on how to correctly get from tree-in-bucket to tree-in-ground. For this planting, the group was split to cover three zones. At this point in volunteering with Trees Atlanta, you have to be prepared to go with the flow because sometimes wacky things happen. Today, one of the residents had given his designated tree away to a neighbor…who already had two trees being planted in her yard. Needless to say, her yard wasn’t big enough (or clear enough of power lines) to support a third tree. At another house, there didn’t seem to be a tree to plant even though the address was on the list to get one. Oops, no tree for Sven?

My inner nerd loves when volunteering turns out to be a chance to do good and learn new things. I had the pleasure of meeting a fellow volunteer (and CVM neighborhood resident) named Ann, who’s a serious student of neighborhood history and architecture. Ann=wicked smart. As things were kicking off this morning, she gave the entire group a brief rundown about the neighborhood, a little of which I missed because I was late. I’m glad I ended up in the Ann-led group because I got such an education about the history of the Capitol View Manor neighborhood and the architectural style of houses (many of which were 1920s-1940s era craftsmans and bungalows with lots of “character”). My tree planting partner/new friend Dave seemed to enjoy learning from Ann as well, which made for enjoyable time spent with him. Over the course of the morning, Dave and I bonded over our two trees (a dogwood and maybe a redbud?), pictures of his dog, and topics such as gardening/yardwork, Haiti, blogging, and great Atlanta restaurants.

This was my second time volunteering with Trees Atlanta, the first being a planting at a golf course a few years back. As Dave and I put that first tree in the ground, some of that previous experience slowly but surely came back to me. Since I enjoy hands-on activity and being outdoors, this kind of project was perfect for me. And as a condo-dweller, I found that volunteering with Trees Atlanta scratched the itch I get sometimes to get all green-thumbed and garden-crazy. The weekly plantings, which go on from October through March, are great for groups (Jack and Jill of Atlanta was one of the groups there today) and families, as well as for individuals since tree-planting can be a 2-3 person endeavor. You can find out more information by visiting their website at TreesAtlanta.Org. Don’t forget to sign up for the weekly volunteer newsletter!

One Response to “DoinGood Review: Planting with Trees Atlanta”


  1. 1 Exciting Developments « DoinGood In My Hood

Leave a Reply

