DoinGood Thought Du Jour – Let Your Light Shine

31Jan10

There are two ways of spreading light – to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.  ~Edith Wharton,Vesalius in Zante

When I was a little girl, one of my favorites songs was one I heard at church all the time: This Little Light of Mine. There’s a part of me that believes that part of the light within all of us is the capacity to help others. Even if it’s just a random act of kindness, like those who pay the toll for the car behind you on Georgia 400 (Gah, if only you knew how much that got me out of a jam once) or helping that lady get her grocery bags to the car. I’ve been really fortunate to encounter people here in Atlanta whose lights shine so bright, like the guy who does the Hospital Art, the people who keep the Atlanta Community Food Bank up and running, and even some of my friends who have the most amazing ideas for raising funds for some of the amazing organizations we have here Atlanta. To me, these people are the candles that spread light and we’re so lucky to have them. I look forward to expanding my network of DoGooders in the near future – you all inspire me everyday.
So what about me? Well, in many ways, I feel that my calling in life is to be more of the mirror than the candle when it comes to spreading the light. I’m here as the woman I am today in part because of the generosity of others. There are few things that get me more excited than executing someone’s vision for helping others, which is part of why I love to volunteer. But I’m rarely the brains of the operation, the creative force of anything, or the incubator of great ideas. However, I can tell you all about what happens when the brains, the force, and the incubator come together. I love that there are so many cool fundraisers, charity events, volunteer projects, and just general goodness happening everyday in Atlanta. And that, my friends, is the very reason I started this blog as my little project. To serve as a mirror to the light that is the community of giving in Atlanta.

Thank you for your visits and the support you’ve shown so far in 2010. This was the first month ever that DoinGood saw consistent traffic every.single.day. I hope that you enjoy at least some of what you read here, that it helps someone, and that I can continue to provide information that helps cast a good light on the DoinGood that happens our city every day.

One Response to “DoinGood Thought Du Jour – Let Your Light Shine”

  1. Hi – really appreciate your blog – thanks for mentioning the Atlanta Community Food Bank! We have all kinds of great opportunities for giving back – volunteering as a food sorter or in a community garden, also some great events. We invite your readers to visit our website at http://www.acfb.org.


Leave a Reply

