Absent…but motivated

24Feb10

Where have I been for the last 2 weeks? Haven’t been out planting trees. Haven’t been out sorting anybody’s donations. There was an event I wanted to volunteer for, but could never catch up with the organizer…and then was too tired to attend the event at all. Unfortunately, the last few weeks of my life have involved a lot of mentally draining (but professionally rewarding!) hours at my day job and a lot of wishing I could hibernate for what’s left of the winter – so exhausted! It makes me sad when I have these dry spells between volunteering projects, especially when they’re unintentional. I think I’ve been more tired in the last 3 or 4 weeks than I’ve been in my (almost) 29 years on Earth. It’s no wonder that only 26.6% of people in Atlanta in my age bracket of 25-34 volunteer – life right now is either in flux, ridiculously busy, or we’re so drained from everything else there’s no energy left for DoinGood (I’m leaving the people who just don’t care out of it). On the other hand, that 26.6% is looking semi-impressive given the national average for people my age is a pretty pathetic 23%. We could always be doing better.

Since I haven’t been very active, I’ve been doing a lot of inspirational reading – a lot of which has been about what the kids of the ATL have been up to as far as serving the community. Props to Atlanta INtown Paper; they’ve been featuring these stories lately. As a matter of fact, I just read in there yesterday about a yard sale two freshmen at the Pace Academy set up for this weekend (Saturday and Sunday!) with the proceeds to benefit Haiti earthquake relief charities. Will definitely be hitting that up! One of these kids is a budding fundraising dynamo – he raised $5k for Katrina victims. A lot of people complain about the sense of entitlement that kids seem to have today; it’s good to know that there are still some good apples out there.

I’m going to get back into the swing of things real soon, I promise. March is going to be a really big month for DoinGood! In the meantime and in-between time, I’m keeping things lively and active with @DoinGoodinATL on Twitter. For the first time since I started the account, I have more followers than I am following. It’s kinda exciting and very motivating – thanks again for your support and encouragement. ♥

p.s. Thanks to VolunteeringinAmerica.gov for the statistics!

No Responses Yet to “Absent…but motivated”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

