Actively DoinGood

16Apr10

Yesterday, I decided to knock off two birds with one stone: an item from my 2010 DoinGood For Me list and something that’s going toward DoinGood for an organization here in Atlanta. I signed up to do my very first official 5k! It’s all going down June 5th at the Virginia Highland Summerfest 5k. The Summerfest is one of the best festivals in town with a parade, artists market, all kinds of food vendors, live music all weekend, and kids activities. This marks the 27th year for the event, whose proceeds go to benefit the Virginia Highland Civic Association, which funds neighborhood initiatives such as beautification projects, library programs, children’s programs, etc. One of the reasons I love Atlanta so much is that warm weather ushers in festival season and we’ve got lots of good ones here. I’m so excited about this weekend’s Dogwood Festival (so thrilled it’s back at Piedmont Park!) and am planning to head out to the Sweetwater 420 Festival for the first time as well. Hmm…I should look into volunteering at a festival at some point this Spring.

Now that I’m all signed up for the 5k, I’m a excited…but a little freaked out. I’ve been trying to build myself up to running on and off for years and even did a Galloway Program this past winter (yes, last winter – the coldest winter ever). When I went home to VA for Christmas, I even went running when it was SO cold outside and there was still snow and ice on the ground – and I liked it. But I’ve kinda been in ‘off’ mode for the last few months, so it’s time to bust out with my favorite running socks and shoes and hit the hood for some consistent training over the next 7 weeks. I’m determined not to be the last person hoofing it through to the finish line. Expect to see more about training for this here in the blog. My ultimate hope is that, by pushing myself here and now, I’ll be able to step up (ha ha!) my active DoinGood game for the future.

Feeling like a winner after finishing Galloway Getting Started Program in January

How are you actively DoinGood this Spring? There are TONS of runs and walks going on here in Atlanta year-round. Check out Active.com or even Atlanta Track Club’s jampacked calendar for some really good options (many of which are fundraisers for a variety of great causes).

No Responses Yet to “Actively DoinGood”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

