DoinGood To-Do: Add Help To Today’s Shopping List

02May10

If it’s Sunday morning…it’s multi-tasking time! I’m sitting here watching Meet The Press on the DVR, doing some career-related research (marketing jobs?), looking for my next volunteer opportunity since I missed SWEEP 2010 yesterday due to being under the weather, reading about the oil spill catastrophe in the Gulf, and meal planning/making a grocery list. As I’m making my list today, I was thinking it would be great to be able to include something that would do good for others.

HomeAid Atlanta, a great organization that helps rebuild the lives of the homeless by building and renovating transitional housing, is currently holding their annual Essentials For Young Lives Drive. This effort, in its ninth year, is looking for donations of diapers, baby wipes, formula, bottles, and other important items for the little ones. (Pssst! I think I saw a coupon for $ off formula in this week’s Publix ad!) This list of drop-off locations, which is located on HomeAid Atlanta’s page about the Essentials drive, spans the Atlanta Metro area and they are accepting donations through 5pm tomorrow (a few up in Cobb are even open today!). Looks like I’ll be dropping my donations off at the Bank of America on Cumberland tomorrow on my lunch break. All goods will be sorted on Tuesday and distributed among seven transitional organizations in the area, just in time for Mother’s Day. While you’re shopping for your family, do good for a family in need. Help a mother out, won’t ya?

Also to keep in mind while cruising the aisle today: it’s time for the annual Stamp Out Hunger food drive, put on by the National Letter Carrier Association in conjunction with the United States Postal Service. I’m a little surprised that I happened to stumble across this one today and hadn’t seen anything in my mailbox about it yet. This one is pretty simple: put out a bag of non-perishables by your mailbox on Saturday May 8th, the postal carriers will pick up, the goods are donated to our local Feeding America agency, which is the Atlanta Community Food Bank. The need for continuing support to ACFB almost speaks for itself given that our unemployment rate here in Georgia is still 10+% and more than 19% of Georgia’s children wonder where their next meal is coming from. I’m going to pick up a few extra 10-for-$10 items, put my bag together today, and set a reminder to put it out on Saturday (or text STAMP1 to 30305 and they’ll send you a reminder!). I also have to give props to Campbell’s for getting involved, pledging to donate a can of soup to the drive for each Like (or fan or whatever they’re calling it these days) on the Stamp Out Hunger page on Facebook.

And there you have it, two easy ways for DoinGood while out running errands today.

No Responses Yet to “DoinGood To-Do: Add Help To Today’s Shopping List”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

