Exciting Developments

23Jan13

Everybody who is passionate about service has their different reasons for volunteering. Sometimes, you’re just drawn by the cause because it’s that important. Sometimes it’s all about the altruism: having a positive impact on the world and feeling like you’ve done your part. For me, volunteering has been part adventure, part deliverance of joy, and part learning experience. In my volunteering randomness over the years, I’ve learned how to plant a tree, how to deal with emergencies, rode my first horse, and gave a little boy the most amazing “I did it!” moment by teaching him how to hammer two things together.

A few years ago, I realized that it could also help me grow as a person in ways I wasn’t getting otherwise. By deciding to get more involved, I started to overcome an innate (and sometimes paralyzing) shyness by being in charge of something more than just taking notes. For the last few years I feel like I’ve been a part of amazing things and made great connections. In 2009, I organized a women-driven community service day between groups at The Home Depot, UPS, and CB Richard Ellis in partnership with HomeAid Atlanta. Getting props from corporate was just icing on the cake for the work we got done that day for that women’s shelter. In 2011, I started a term as the Community Service Chair for UGA’s Metro Atlanta Chapter of the Alumni Association, working with orgs like Project Open Hand and Georgia Public Broadcasting to bring a variety of volunteer opportunities for the Dawg faithful in our city. Our group was the first alumni association in Metro Atlanta to adopt a section of the Atlanta Beltline via Park Pride’s program.

And today, my friends, I found out that I got accepted to Hands On Atlanta’s Civic Leadership Program, where I will partner up with an organization (to be determined) here in Atlanta to fundraise and lead my own series of volunteer projects starting in March!

300_873615
I’m so excited about this opportunity and thank my friend Jocelyn, who gave me the idea to go looking for such a program, and Hands On Atlanta for accepting me into the program. Anyone who knows me well knows what a big deal this is for me. There’s so much to learn and I can’t wait to start this new and exciting chapter in my life of Doin Good right here in my hood.

No Responses Yet to “Exciting Developments”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

